Opinion-Policy Nexus

Dear Canadian Politics Section members,
I have received the report of this year's S. M. Lipset Book Award committee, and am delighted to share its decision with you. This year's committee was chaired by Professor James McCormick, Iowa State University. His colleagues on the committee were:
Sam Fisher, University of South Alabama
David Plazek, Johnson State College
Lori Hausegger, Boise State University
Kathy Brock, Queen's University
I am sure I speak for you all when I express our sincere appreciation to the selection committee for the hard work they put into this challenging task.
The committee unanimously recommends that Christopher Alcantara's Negotiating the Deal: Comprehensive Land Claims Agreements in Canada receive the 2017 Lipset Award. To quote the committee: 
This work was viewed, as one committee member put it, as offering "a significant contribution in our theoretical and practical understanding of why some treaty negotiations succeed and others fail." Moreover, the four diverse case studies of First Nations people (two from Newfoundland and Labrador and two from the Yukon Territory) are carefully done, using a variety of resource materials, including numerous interviews with those involved in the negotiating process. The use of the comparative method throughout the volume provides an important systematic dimension to the analysis as Alcantara identifies the key factors across these cases for success or failure of treaty negotiations. In all, this volume "should be essential reading for scholars and practitioners" for those seeking to understand relations between Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal communities. Moreover, the central findings may well be applicable to other nations seeking to address land and resource claims of indigenous communities.
If you can do so, please plan to attend the Section's business meeting where we will congratulate Christopher Alcantara.
Louise Carbert, President Canadian Politics Section, APSA
Dalhousie University, Nova Scotia


Thursday, June 8, 2017 - 09:54